Your cart
Close Alternative Icon
Free shipping on all UK orders Free shipping on all UK orders

News

Are Hard Seltzers Vegan?

Are Hard Seltzers Vegan?

A Guide to Alcohol for Vegans: Are Hard Seltzers Vegan? 

Veganism is more than a trend among Millennials. It is a philosophy that shows genuine compassion for all living creatures with whom we cohabit our planet, Earth. 

It dates back to the ancient Greek philosopher Pythagoras of Samos, at around 550 BC. Pythagoras argued that killing and eating animals is unhealthy both for our body and soul. Around the same time, Buddha was also praising a vegetarian lifestyle, asking his followers to avoid consuming the flesh of other sentient beings.

The stats around vegetarianism and veganism are mind-blowing. About 7.2 million adults in the UK are currently following a meat-free diet (2021 stats) and the number continues to rise. As of early 2021, there are over 79 million vegans in the world.

After these figures, it’s no wonder why the food and beverage industry around the world has started taking veganism seriously. 

Big supermarket chains allocate huge shelves and ambient aisles to vegan, gluten free and refined sugar free products. Plant-based savoury, snacks and sweets have never been more readily available. But what about vegan alcohol?

Is Alcohol Vegan?

Even though alcohol is suitable for vegans, not all alcoholic beverages are cruelty-free and plant-based. A surprising number of beer, wine and spirit manufacturers often use non-vegan ingredients in the production and filtering process. 

Filtering - or ‘fining’ - is an essential part of the brewing process. It removes proteins, tannins and other organic compounds to create a pure, clear beverage. But filtering usually relies on animal products (also called fining agents), such as:

  • Fish bladders (AKA isinglass) - taken from cod and sturgeon
  • Gelatine - made by boiling the bones, tendons, cartilage and skin of animals, like cows and pigs
  • Casein - a milk protein found in cow’s milk
  • Sea shells
  • Egg whites

Alcoholic beverage producers do not have to list these ingredients on the drinks’ labels. That's why finding vegan alcohol can be pretty tricky at times.

As the vegan alcohol market is soaring, beer, wine and spirit makers have started adding the vegan-friendly logo on the bottles and cans. This way, it’s easier for vegans and all health-conscious drinkers to spot the alcoholic beverages made meat-free and opt for them!

In general, beers, wines and spirits that don’t contain dairy or honey and are produced without animal-derived fining agents can be vegan-friendly. 

Following the growing demand for vegan spirits, many beer brewers, winemakers and other alcohol producers have turned to plant-based alternatives for ‘purifying’ their beverages. Pea protein, Irish moss (carrageenan), beet and clay are some of the most common vegan fining agents.

Are Hard Seltzers Vegan?

Most hard seltzer brands do not contain animal ingredients. Instead, these trendy and refreshing beverages blend:

  • Sparkling water
  • Gluten-free alcohol base
  • Fruit flavour

But just like with other alcoholic drinks, animal-derived ingredients might creep into the production and filtration process of hard seltzers too. On top of that, some alcoholic sparkling waters include cane sugar. This type of sugar is usually filtered with bone char that comes from boiling the bones of cattle.

So how can you know if the cooling alcoholic seltzer you’re craving for is vegan? Here are three tips for checking if a spiked seltzer brand is suitable for vegans:

  • Look for the vegan logo. Most hard seltzer producers add the vegan-friendly symbol on the label. Others might include text explaining that the beverage is vegan. So check out the label first!
  • Head to the brand’s website or ask the producer. A reliable way to find out if the hard seltzer you want to taste is vegan is to reach out to the manufacturer directly. Most brand websites include a contact form for customer enquiries.
  • Read the allergen statement. Many people are allergic to eggs, fish, shellfish and dairy products. Brands usually list common allergens used during production. If the label of the hard seltzer brand you hold refers to any of the above allergens, you’d better look for another brand.

Are Served Hard Seltzers Vegan?

Served hard seltzers are entirely made from plants and 100% vegan. 

The innovative British hard sparkling water includes the four-times distilled ServedPure™ spirit that comes from pure wonky beet. The wonky beet is locally sourced in France and produces a crystal clear, ultra-clean tasting spirit that will make your taste buds sing! No animal-derived fining agents such as gelatin or isinglass are used in the Served product range. 

Besides, the spring water of all Served hard seltzers flows out of the crystal clear springs in rural Staffordshire, UK. It’s then naturally filtered through grey and red sandstone to create a delicious, natural, light and refreshing alcoholic beverage.

Contrary to alcohol manufacturers who use animal-derived flavour enhancers, such as castoreum and honey, Served has chosen to infuse its seltzers with wonky fruits such as limes and raspberries. That’s where the crisp, light flavour and natural sweetness of Served hard seltzers come from!

To sum it up, the Served alcohol is:

  • Vegan
  • Pure
  • Extremely light in calories
  • Gluten-free
  • GMO-free
  • With zero refined sugar or carbs

You’ll find an exhaustive list of all ingredients used for the production of Served hard seltzers on the products’ labels.

Is tequila or vodka suitable for vegans?

Bartenders love to blend tequila or vodka with hard sparkling water. But are these hard liquors vegan?

Translucent distilled spirits can be vegan, depending on the way the alcohol is produced. A cream-based liqueur or a spirit made with honey are obviously not suitable for vegans.

Here’s a list of other vegan spirits. Many of them can be perfectly combined with hard seltzers to create top-class cocktails:

  • Tequila
  • Vodka
  • Bourbon
  • Canadian, Scotch, Tennessee & Irish whiskey (without honey)
  • Gin
  • Rum
  • Schnapps

The Bottom Line

Many alcoholic beverages, including hard seltzers, beers, wines and spirits are vegan friendly. 

However, it’s common for alcohol producers to use animal products to filter and clarify the drinks. These animal-derived fining agents are not always listed on the labels. This happens because the European and US-based manufacturers are not obliged to list all the ingredients used during the alcohol filtering process. 

Consumers should check the bottles or cans for the vegan logo. Or you can contact the producer via the brand’s website to make sure you can enjoy a 100% vegan alcoholic beverage.

Continue reading

Do hard seltzers expire?

Do hard seltzers expire?

Hard seltzer is the refreshing, low carb and low-calorie, tasty and trendy alcoholic drink that’s taken the beverage industry by storm over the recent years.

But as all good things don’t last forever, hard seltzers have a specific shelf life too.

EXPIRATION DATE

If you want to taste a hard seltzer at peak quality, refer to the expiration date stamped on the can or bottle.

You’ll find the expiration date at the bottom of the drink’s package, usually worded as:

  • “Best by”
  • “Best before”
  • “Best if used by”
  • “Best when used by”

When the freshness date expires, the hard seltzer won’t taste as good.

According to StillTasty, unopened and properly stored hard seltzers can last 9 more months after the expiration date stamped on the package. You can store them in the refrigerator or at room temperature.

Still unsure about your hard seltzer’s shelf life?

Grab a Served hard seltzer! Served drinks have a guaranteed two-year shelf life, so you can enjoy a pure and tasty, light alcoholic drink whenever you crave it.

STORAGE CONDITIONS

The date provided on the pack is accurate only when the drink is unopened, properly packed and stored in a safe, cool and dark place.

Like any beverage, storage conditions play a big part in determining the shelf life of alcoholic seltzers.

Caution: Keep your unopened hard soda away from heat or light if you want it to last longer.

HOW LONG DOES HARD SELTZER LAST ONCE OPENED?

Once you’ve opened a hard seltzer can or bottle it is best enjoyed within a few hours.

It’ll start going flat and losing a bit of taste after a few hours, so drink it while it’s at its best quality.

For those who may be wondering why sodas and other sparkling drinks go flat once opened and left aside for a few days, we’ve got the answer.

When you pop the top of the drink, the pressure inside the bottle or can drops. Then, the carbon dioxide (CO2) becomes gas and breaks out into bubbles.

If you let the drink sit for too long before drinking it, the flavour and bubbly fizz will gradually disappear.

SPOILT PACK?

Leaking, dented, rusting or bulging can or bottle? 

If you’re in a store, inform the staff to take the drinks away from the shelf.

In case you ordered a pack of hard seltzers online directly from the manufacturer or another provider, return the damaged packages and inform the provider about the situation.

Whatever you do, do not drink a hard seltzer if the can or bottle looks damaged in any way.

DOES ALCOHOL EXPIRE?

Distilled spirits won’t go bad in a sealed bottle or can.

It’s the oxygen interacting with the alcohol that makes the spirit losing a bit of its flavour or become weaker.

When it comes to beers, the answer varies depending on the brand.

Bottled or canned ales and dark beers with higher alcohol content usually last for long periods if stored in a cool, dry place. 

However, beers manufactured by small, local breweries can go bad if they’re unpasteurised.

Most spirits now come with a “Best by” date. But exposure to temperature changes can accelerate the decay process.

For example, if you buy a cold hard seltzer or beer, store it in a warm place and then recool it again, the drink can quickly go bad.

DO CARBONATED DRINKS LAST AFTER EXPIRATION DATE?

Carbonated flavoured water options - especially those with alcohol - have risen in popularity over the last few years.

Most carbonated beverages are fine to drink past their expiration date if they’re unopened and stored in a dry place away from heat or light.

If you’re unsure about a carbonated drink’s storage conditions, pour the content into a glass instead of drinking it straight from the can or bottle. 

Check if there are any bubbles and how they fizz. Have a look at the colour and smell of the drink. Any unusual activity, smell or colour would mean that the beverage is not safe to consume. Simply use your good judgement and common sense.

Carbonated drinks produced with natural sugar can be consumed up to 9 months after the indicated expiration date.

But that’s not the case for drinks containing artificial sweeteners, as these can last for a maximum of 4 months past the date on the package.

Looking for a carbonated alcoholic beverage with no artificial sweeteners made from a pure, gluten-free spirit?

Try the refreshing, fizzy and trendy hard seltzer by Served, the drink of the future!

It’s made from wonky beet grown in the Champagne region in France, four-time distilled to produce a crystal clear, ultra-tasty spirit with a subtle, smooth finish.

It contains zero sugar or carbs, is extremely low in calories, vegan, gluten-free, GMO-free and 100% sustainable.

Served Hard Seltzers don’t contain anything artificial. 

All ingredients are plant-sourced and processed to an absolute minimum to maintain their raw goodness and be the healthiest option for health-conscious consumers.

Continue reading

Is Hard Seltzer Gluten-Free?

Is Hard Seltzer Gluten-Free?

You think a gluten-free life can’t be fun? 

Try Hard Seltzer!

There's much talk lately about the uncomfortable digestive problems caused by food and drinks rich in gluten.

Stress, hectic lifestyle, environmental toxins, smoking, bacteria in food and poor diets are just some of the factors linked to symptoms that cry out “gluten intolerance,” “gluten sensitivity” or even more severe health problems, such as celiac disease.

The good news? There’s so much buzz around gluten-free products and diets too! 

Health-conscious consumers are aware that symptoms like constant bloating after eating might be caused by gluten intolerance. Thus, they’re looking for lip-smacking food and drink alternatives to products that won’t make their belly swollen or put their digestive system at risk.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a group of elastic proteins mainly found in wheat, barley and rye. It offers many culinary benefits, like giving bread and pasta a soft, spongy or chewy texture. 

A variety of popular whole and processed food and drinks include gluten, such as:

  • Cereal grains
  • Crackers
  • Bread
  • Cookies
  • Pastries
  • Wheat noodles
  • Pasta
  • Specific salad dressings
  • Flavoured chips
  • Flour
  • Beer
  • Specific kinds of wine

The rise of gluten-free food and drinks

More and more people are diagnosed with celiac disease and gluten intolerance. At the same time, celebrities and influencers promote a healthy lifestyle that includes better eating habits. 

One of the greatest tennis players of all time, Novak Djokovic, has said that he reached the top of his game by switching to a gluten-free diet.

It’s almost impossible not to read about natural, organic and gluten-free foods and drinks while navigating social media.

Since the awareness of gluten-free goods is increasing, demand is naturally skyrocketing too.

18% of adults buy gluten-free products

Over the last decade, the global market for gluten-free products reached $5.6 billion in 2020. Industry experts expect it to further grow to $8.3 billion by 2025.

Major supermarkets have allocated space and shelves to gluten-free products. This way it’s easier for consumers who want or need to go gluten-free to find all the goods they’re looking for in one place.

The same goes for restaurant chains that include gluten-free signs on their food and drink menu. They also offer consumers the choice to taste their favourite dishes cooked with gluten-free ingredients.

About 3.1 million Americans are on a gluten-free diet.

What alcoholic beverages are safe for a gluten-free diet?

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, try to avoid beverages with malt, barley and other gluten-containing grains. These include beers, ales, wine coolers and certain wines with added colouring and flavouring.

Distilled spirits and liquors like whiskey, bourbon, vodka and gin made from non-gluten grain sources (e.g., potato) can cause a bloated belly and other digestion issues to gluten-sensitive people.

What’s more, there are alcoholic beverages that can trigger digestion reactions even if their labels don’t include gluten grain ingredients. That’s because wheat gluten can sneak into alcoholic drinks as a fining agent that gives the drink a polished finish.

Fortunately, there’s a new, light, refreshing and healthy alcoholic drink category that can be naturally gluten-free: Hard Seltzer, the drink of the future

Is hard seltzer gluten-free?

Not all hard seltzer brands are truly and naturally gluten-free. 

Most manufacturers use cane sugar instead of gluten to produce the alcohol in hard seltzers. But that doesn’t mean that hard seltzers are high in calories! 

Sugar is removed in the crafting process, making the hard sparkling water the king of low-calorie alcoholic drinks.

When it comes to gluten, some hard seltzer brands use gluten-containing grains. Producers take out most of these gluten grains during fermentation, but still they can’t get rid of all gluten. 

We can’t consider these “gluten-removed” products 100% gluten-free. So, people with Celiac or other severe digestion issues should always check the label for the gluten-free sign or read the detailed ingredient list. 

If you’re looking for a naturally gluten-free and vegan hard seltzer, look no further than Served.

ServedPure™ hard seltzers are made from a four-times distilled gluten-free spirit to make the difference in the hard seltzer category. 

Served hard seltzers are:

  • 100% gluten-free
  • Extremely low in calories
  • GMO-free
  • 100% sustainable
  • Contain zero sugar and carbs!

Is hard seltzer safe for people with celiac disease?

Celiac disease is a severe autoimmune disease that affects 1 in 100 people worldwide.

When people with Celiac eat gluten-based products, their body triggers an immune response attacking the small intestine. It’s a serious disease that might also lead to further health problems if left untreated.

If you suffer from Celiac, talk with your doctor or nutritionist about alcohol consumption. Generally speaking, alcohol can be a part of a celiac diet. But you have to choose the right types of alcoholic drinks.

Hard seltzers labelled 100% gluten-free are safe for people with celiac disease. These alcoholic sodas are naturally fermented or contain distilled alcohol.

Many people with Celiac have no issues with “gluten-removed” hard seltzers. But if you don’t want to risk it, go for the 100% gluten-free ones, such as Served Hard Seltzers.

Check the label on your hard seltzer and make sure you’re enjoying a totally gluten-free drink!

 

Continue reading

Drinks Comparison | Hard seltzer vs Beer vs Wine

Drinks Comparison | Hard seltzer vs Beer vs Wine

Just the sound of cracking open a refreshing beverage after a long day at work can push any stressful thoughts aside for a while. But it’s the can’s content that's gonna make you happy… and may keep you healthy too. You choose!

We all have friends who are major beer lovers. Many of you are probably big fans of craft beer, too.

The US beer industry sold 203.1 million barrels of beer in 2019, while in Europe, there are 10154 registered breweries. 

I’m sure you’re not surprised at all with these figures. Beer is one of the oldest, most popular and widely consumed alcoholic drinks in the world. In fact, it comes third in popularity after water and tea.

But did you know that beer has a lot of gluten in it? If you’ve ever wondered why you got a bloated belly or a thick, heavy feeling after drinking beer - well, that’s the reason why!

More and more people today tend toward a healthier lifestyle and habits. They follow a healthier diet, do more physical activities and try to control their body weight.

The alcoholic drinks industry has already realised the changing needs of modern consumers. That’s why a new, low-calorie, low-ABV, yet refreshing and tasteful drink came down the pike to take the alcoholic beverage market by storm: Hard seltzers!

Is hard seltzer healthier than beer?

Let’s start with beer. 

This beloved alcoholic drink is made by brewing and fermenting cereal grains, yeast, hops, spices and additional CO2 for some extra fizz. A regular can of beer contains about five per cent of alcohol, but the figure can range from 0.5% to 67.5% depending on the type and brand.

Apart from some minerals and vitamins, beer doesn’t have any nutritional value.

On the contrary, it can spike blood sugar, stress the liver and pancreas and impede your weight loss efforts if consumed in excess.

And when it comes to the calorie count... beer is the king of carbs and calories! 

Dark beer has between 100-300 calories, a blonde one around 100 calories, while vintage sweet cider has more or less 580 calories.

And now let’s talk about hard seltzers and why they’re much healthier than beers.

Hard seltzers can be brewed similar to craft beers, but without any gluten ingredients or unfermented complex sugars used during the brewing process. Alternatively they can be made using distilled spirits and means hard seltzers have a rock-bottom calorie count!

For those of you who are on a keto or low-carb diet, but still want to have some alcohol on a Friday night, hard seltzer is the perfect drink for you! A regular can of hard seltzer has only two grams of carbs. 

Are you on a gluten-free diet? Most hard seltzers don’t contain gluten. If you have celiac disease though, make sure to ask your server or check the label on the drink, because not all brands are 100% gluten-free.

The exact count of calories and carbs for hard seltzers varies from brand to brand. Do your research and choose the brand that best suits your needs. 

For example, Served® Hard Seltzers contain 23 calories, zero grams of sugar, and zero grams of carbs per 100ml.

Is hard seltzer more hydrating than beer?

A hard seltzer can be as hydrating as water. And definitely more hydrating than beer.

Let’s break that down. The main ingredients of a hard seltzer are sparkling water and alcohol. 

Sparkling water hydrates our body as much as still water and helps increase our daily water intake. Healthline argues that its fizziness can further boost hydration levels, too.

When it comes to alcohol, most people believe that it tends to dehydrate our body because it increases urination. 

But, according to molecular biologist Patrick Schmitt, that’s not true. His research proved that alcohol consumption doesn’t lead to dehydration. Even though there’s increased fluid excretion after drinking alcoholic drinks, the “body doesn’t lose significant amounts of water.” Keep in mind, though, that this depends on the alcohol level of the drink, too.

So, we can safely say that mixing sparkling water with a dash of alcohol helps keep your fluid levels up.

But what about beer? Even if you enjoy drinking a cold beer - especially on a hot day - and feel instantly hydrated, the truth is that you’ll soon urinate more water than was contained in your drink. And this excess water comes from muscle cells or other stores within your body.


Hard Seltzer vs. Wine: Is hard seltzer healthier than wine?

It’s a matter of fact that canned hard seltzers have been striking out the wine industry over the last three years or so.

A standard, five-ounce glass of wine falls between 10-15% ABV, which is over twice the alcohol amount found in a standard hard seltzer. 

There are only a few wines with fewer ABV, such as moscatos; but many people find them very sweet and bubbly. The same goes for wine coolers which are also often considered too sweet and contain lots of sugar.

Apart from less alcohol, hard seltzers come with lower calories, carbs and sugar in comparison to wine. That’s why they’re healthier than a glass of wine.

Most alcoholic seltzers have 90 to 100 calories per 12-ounce can, while a standard glass of wine has a minimum of 120 per five-ounce. 

Wine contains anywhere from one to seven grams of sugar and an average of four grams of carbs. In contrast, the average hard seltzer might have up to two grams of sugar and an equal number of carbs. There are even hard seltzer brands like Served® that don’t contain neither sugars, nor carbs! 

For consumers who have an intolerance to sulfites (an ingredient found in wines to maintain their flavour and freshness), a can of hard seltzer is a great alternative!

The bottom line

Hard seltzers are available everywhere, from bars and restaurants to the shelves of the biggest supermarket chains.

They’ve taken the alcoholic beverage industry by storm because they’re much healthier, with less calories, sugars and carbs than any other alcoholic drink, including beer and wine.

They’re light, fresh, pure, fun and flavourful. Many even call them the powerhouse of the alcoholic beverage market!

If you want a UK-made hard seltzer that contains zero sugars and carbs, has no artificial ingredients in it and is totally gluten-free, ServedⓇ has the right drinks for you!

BUY NOW

Continue reading

What is hard seltzer? Discover the drink of the future

What is hard seltzer? Discover the drink of the future

It’s refreshing, light, fizzy, with the ‘right’ percentage of alcohol by volume. Plus, it’s low-calorie, low carb and comes in a variety of fruity flavours. It’s no wonder why there’s so much buzz about it!


Everyone loves a cold beer at the pub after work. But no one enjoys the feeling of a bloated belly that comes with drinking it. What causes that awful sensation anyway? Whenever we take a swig of beer, it releases carbon dioxide gas into our bodies, resulting in a bloated feeling. 

And it’s not just the beers! The majority of drinks and spirits that dominated the alcoholic beverage landscape for years are high in sugar and carbs. But today, consumers tend towards a healthier lifestyle that can keep their minds and bodies fresh and strong.

That’s the gap in the market that hard seltzer comes to fill!

It’s the novelty, ‘health-conscious’ alcoholic drink. Millennials love it and have already shown their preference for hard seltzer over craft beer.

What is hard seltzer made of?

Hard seltzers contain carbonated water, alcohol and fruit flavouring extracts. The most popular alcoholic bases used for hard seltzers are wine, malt and other light spirits. They don’t contain unfermented complex sugars or proteins, which translates into a rock-bottom calorie count. 

They’re also the perfect fit for those on a gluten restricted diet!

The exact ingredients and production methods differ from brand to brand. For example, Served infuses fresh wonky fruit into natural spring water and the ultra-pure, four-time distilled, ServedPure™ gluten-free spirit.

How popular is hard seltzer in the UK and US?

Hard seltzer’s history started in the US in 2013. Nick Shields, who was managing a small beer brand at that time, tried to make an alcoholic soda drink and sell it in a can. 

That was it! His attempt turned out to be a huge success.

Since then, many copycat spirits started popping up in the US beverage market. It came as no surprise that sales of hard seltzer drinks soared by 200% between 2018 and 2019.

Industry experts and retail trend professionals have agreed that hard seltzer is the fastest-growing alcoholic beverage category in the US.

US-based drinkers already had a long tradition of consuming seltzer spirits - the ones without alcohol. The alcohol, though, was the exciting addition that made seltzer’s popularity skyrocket. The fact that hard seltzer doesn’t have the calories or the sugary sweetness of soda is an added bonus.

The hard seltzer craze is now making its way to the UK, competing against popular gin and vodka options. The innovative drink category arrived in Great Britain just two years ago, in 2019. It’s exciting news that just in May 2020, Google searches for hard seltzer in the country increased by 67%.

IWSR has announced that the hard seltzer category will probably witness the highest growth rate within the UK’s ready-to-drink sector over the next five years.

You can find these innovative and refreshing drinks on the shelves of retailers, such as Tesco, Morrisons, Whole Foods, Sainsbury’s, Selfridges, Planet Organic etc.

If you’re interested in tasting the Served Hard Seltzer, click here and have your favourite flavour served straight to your doorstep - with free delivery on all UK orders!


How many calories are in hard seltzers?

Hard seltzers are spiked with alcohol. 

Note: If they don’t contain alcohol, they’re called just ‘seltzers’.

The alcohol by volume is similar to beer. It might vary between brands, but it usually ranges from 4% to 7%.

The calorie content, however, is what gives hard seltzers the competitive advantage over beers and wines. While a typical beer contains about 50-100 calories - or even more -, most alcoholic seltzers contain half this amount.

So, for consumers looking for a low-calorie, ‘healthier’ alcoholic beverage, hard seltzers are the right choice.

Served Hard Seltzers contain just 23 calories, zero grams of sugar, and zero grams of carbs per 100ml.

What are the best tasting hard seltzer flavours?

Well, that depends on each drinker’s taste. The good news is that there are so many hard seltzer flavours out there, which makes it difficult for consumers not to find their favourite one!

Here is a list of the most loved flavours in the UK:

  • Lime
  • Raspberry
  • Blackberry
  • Passion fruit
  • Pineapple
  • Mango
  • Coconut

There are also other not-so-popular, yet interesting fruity flavours to taste, such as:

  • Peach 
  • Orange
  • Citrus
  • Mandarin
  • Turmeric
  • Rose

Is hard seltzer gluten-free?

Are you on a gluten-free diet or living with Celiacs?

Then hard seltzer is the right alcoholic drink for you!

Many hard seltzer brands in the market are naturally gluten-free. These brands use cane sugar to create alcohol instead of gluten grains. However, no sugar is left in the drink after the crafting process.

It’s true though that not all hard seltzer brands use the same ingredients. Some of them use gluten-containing grains and then remove the gluten in a process called fermentation.

Even in this case, not all of the gluten can be removed. These products are not considered 100% gluten-free, so you should always check the beverage’s label for the detailed ingredients list.

What else do I need to know about hard seltzers?

There are many different names for hard seltzers. So don’t be surprised if you hear people referring to them with any of the below names:

  • Alcoholic sparkling water (most common in the UK)
  • Alcoholic soda
  • Hard soda
  • Alcoholic soda pop
  • Hard sparkling alcohol soda
  • Hard sparkling water
  • Spiked Seltzer (typical in the US)

No matter the name, these innovative, refreshing, easy-to-drink beverages are a great alternative to beer and wines.

Important note: Drinkers must be aware of the risks of binge drinking. Like with any other alcoholic drinks, hard seltzers can also cause intoxication if consumed beyond normal levels.

Here are other interesting facts to know about hard seltzers (plus, a bonus info about plain seltzer):

  • They come in a convenient can, just like beers.
  • Major beer brands have started including hard seltzers on their product lists.
  • Barry Joseph has written a book chronicling the history of seltzer, the “Seltzertopia.”
  • Hard seltzers are particularly popular in the social media sphere. In fact, there are many memes about them!
  • It’s a gender-neutral drink - meaning that it doesn’t target any particular sex.
  • It fits perfectly within a holistic, healthful lifestyle.

Served Hard Seltzers

Served Hard Seltzer is a UK-made beverage. It contains 23 calories, zero grams of sugar and zero grams of carbs per 100ml.

All of the ingredients we use in our products are naturally gluten-free and vegan, made purely from plants. 

Our mission is to create a convenient and refreshing lower-ABV beverage, designed for the modern, health-conscious consumer. 

Check out our full product list and order your favourite hard seltzer flavour, delivered straight to your door!

Continue reading

Go Dry-Ish this January with SERVED

Go Dry-Ish this January with SERVED

After the year we have endured, 2021 is not the year for slogging your way through Dry January or pressurising yourself into a January detox, instead, 2021 is the year for balance or Dry-ish January.

British hard seltzer, SERVED, are designed to make people feel good, both about themselves and the planet. There is nothing fake or artificial about their drinks. It’s just water, fruit and a touch of alcohol. With 0 sugar, 0 carbs and just 57 calories per can (less than an apple), SERVED drinks are guilt-free meaning you can enjoy one or two…

SERVED recognise that we all need to make changes and do what we can to save our planet. That’s why the founders have developed 100% recyclable cans and pledged to invest 5% of their profits into environmental projects saving critically endangered species around the world. When it comes to fruit SERVED believe in substance over style and go to extraordinary lengths to find the world's best tasting fruit, bursting with flavour. As looks never come into it they are able to use bumped, bent and broken fruit that would have otherwise gone to waste.

With trend forecasters predicting that this January will see far less of us taking up the traditions of Dry January, SERVED Hard Seltzers offer consumers a low-abv, low calorie alternative, whilst also being good for the environment - providing the perfect balance to ensure January can still be a healthy month by reducing alcohol intake, without having to give it up completely.

Continue reading

Served Becomes First Hard Seltzer to Feature In World's 50 Best Bar

Served Becomes First Hard Seltzer to Feature In World's 50 Best Bar

SERVED, has become the first hard seltzer to feature on a menu of a World's 50 Best Bar. The premium hard seltzer brand, which has already seen its products sell out in Selfridges and Planet Organic, now features in two drinks on the winter cocktail menu of Artesian Bar – the critically acclaimed cocktail bar within The Langham Hotel, currently listed as the World’s 41st  Best Bar.

 Inspired by the era of Disco, Artesian’s menu designed by Anna Sebastian the ‘queen of hospitality’ (Cocktail Lovers, 2018) features 12 classic Disco cocktails with a modern twist. SERVED Raspberry Hard Seltzer is paired with Absolute Elyx Vodka, Vanilla, Bergamot, Smoke and Redbull Cordial to create an innovative interpretation of the Vodka Red Bull. The menu also features an original take on the Batanga cocktail with SERVED Lime Hard Seltzer, Patron Silver Tequila, Mezcal, Mr Black Coffee, Agave and Spice. The Vodka Red Bull and Batanga cocktails are currently available on the menu at Artesian.

Artesian’s Bar Manager, Anna Sebastian says: “Hard seltzers are widely considered to be the next big trend and we are excited to be leading the way using SERVED on our menu. SERVED’s crisp, light flavour pairs fantastically well with vodka and whiskey”. We are delighted to feature SERVED on our Winter Cocktail Menu and to create two superb cocktails that pay homage to some fantastic memories – it’s especially rewarding given that the night club industry is going through such a tough time.”

SERVED co-founder Dean Ginsberg said: “Since we launched this summer, the response has been overwhelming and we have witnessed a huge demand from people looking for more conscious alcoholic options, both from a health and sustainability perspective. It is an absolute honour to be working with Artesian, a World 50 Best Bar and a longstanding personal favourite of ours. It has been fantastic to see Served being used as a key ingredient in such an iconic bar and we are in no doubt that it will be hugely popular with guests of Artesian Bar over the coming months

Continue reading

Supplier Spotlight: Served Hard Seltzer | Planet Organic

Supplier Spotlight: Served Hard Seltzer | Planet Organic

As former restaurant owners, the founders of Served were becoming increasingly aware of the modern health needs of a conscious consumer and decided to create clean, alcoholic drinks with true nutritional transparency. Read on to learn more about Served's ethos and Hard Seltzer drinks.

What Is Hard Seltzer?

“Hard Seltzer is the name given to a new and exciting category of alcoholic drink. Hard Seltzers are typically made with just three ingredients: sparkling water, alcohol and flavourings. Hard Seltzers were first developed in the US and were immediately a hit with a new generation of drinkers, who wanted all the refreshment and flavour, but without the calories, sugar and carbs. The category did £2.7bn in sales in the US alone last year.”

How is Served hard seltzer made?

“Served hard seltzer is made using the world’s finest plant-based ingredients. We infuse fresh wonky fruit, with British spring water and our ultra-pure, four-times distilled, ServedPure™ gluten-free spirit.”

What makes Served stand out from the crowd?

“We realised that we are living in an age where people really care about the food they put in their bodies - for both themselves and the planet. With this in mind, we couldn’t get our heads around why companies creating alcoholic drinks all seemed to be packing them with sugar and cheap artificial ingredients and offering little to no ingredient or nutritional transparency. As a result, we set out to create a drink to feel good about. Not just for ourselves, but for the planet. Something lower in ABV, that was natural and refreshing, that tasted amazing, but without all the bad stuff. Pure. We embarked on an extraordinary 12-month journey to make this a reality; from wading through crystal clear natural springs in rural Staffordshire, to handpicking wonky raspberries with local farmers in the heart of Scotland’s Strathmere valley.

Here’s What Is In Our Drinks:

SERVEDPURE™ GLUTEN FREE ALCOHOL - Champagne-Ardenne, France Our ServedPure™ gluten-free alcohol is four-times distilled from locally grown beet in France, to produce a crystal clear, ultra-clean tasting spirit, with a subtle smooth finish for pure refreshment. We use wonky beet to ensure there is zero waste. As our alcohol is so pure, it carries a whole host of positives which we have to share with you: extremely light in calories, contains zero sugar or carbs, vegan, gluten-free and GMO-free, 100% sustainable with zero waste.

SPRING WATER - Staffordshire, England To achieve the perfect clean and refreshing flavour profile in our drinks, it’s essential that we source the very finest spring water. Our spring water is naturally filtered through red and grey sandstone and freshly sprung in rural Staffordshire.

WONKY LIMES - Catanduva, Brazil We specifically select wonky limes that would otherwise go to waste, due to their, well... wonky, appearance. We source Tahiti limes grown in the Catanduva region of Brazil for their deliciously sweet, less acidic flavour. We use the whole fruit to maximise on sweetness and aroma when infusing them into our drinks.

WONKY RASPBERRIES - Strathmere Valley, Scotland We love our wonky raspberries. With the perfect growing conditions and wonderfully fertile soil, we source our raspberries from local farms in the heart of Scotland’s Strathmere Valley, as they produce some of the world’s finest raspberries bursting with sweetness and flavour. Again, we aren’t afraid to select raspberries in all shapes and sizes, gently infusing them into our drinks to produce crisp, light flavour and a touch of natural sweetness.”

What would be the perfect accompaniment to your drinks? “Served are convenient and refreshing lower-ABV drinks, designed for the modern health-conscious social lifestyle and are perfect for barbecues, summer picnics, or simply enjoying at home with friends!”

Continue reading

Served Hard Seltzer voted as the No. 1 in the top 10 ready made drinks!

Served Hard Seltzer voted as the No. 1 in the top 10 ready made drinks!

This summer’s biggest tinnie trend, hard seltzer is huge. Super refreshing, SERVED have spiked their alcoholic, low-calorie, sparkling water with wonky fruit (bent, crushed, etc). In this case, Brazilian limes for a crisp, lightly infused fizz. Free from added sugar and anything artificial, there’s also a raspberry expression.

Read more here

Continue reading