Your cart
Close Alternative Icon
Free UK delivery over £20 Free UK delivery over £20

Is Hard Seltzer Gluten-Free?

Arrow Thin Left Icon Arrow Thin Right Icon
Is Hard Seltzer Gluten-Free?

You think a gluten-free life can’t be fun? 

Try Hard Seltzer!

There's much talk lately about the uncomfortable digestive problems caused by food and drinks rich in gluten.

Stress, hectic lifestyle, environmental toxins, smoking, bacteria in food and poor diets are just some of the factors linked to symptoms that cry out “gluten intolerance,” “gluten sensitivity” or even more severe health problems, such as celiac disease.

The good news? There’s so much buzz around gluten-free products and diets too! 

Health-conscious consumers are aware that symptoms like constant bloating after eating might be caused by gluten intolerance. Thus, they’re looking for lip-smacking food and drink alternatives to products that won’t make their belly swollen or put their digestive system at risk.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a group of elastic proteins mainly found in wheat, barley and rye. It offers many culinary benefits, like giving bread and pasta a soft, spongy or chewy texture. 

A variety of popular whole and processed food and drinks include gluten, such as:

  • Cereal grains
  • Crackers
  • Bread
  • Cookies
  • Pastries
  • Wheat noodles
  • Pasta
  • Specific salad dressings
  • Flavoured chips
  • Flour
  • Beer
  • Specific kinds of wine

The rise of gluten-free food and drinks

More and more people are diagnosed with celiac disease and gluten intolerance. At the same time, celebrities and influencers promote a healthy lifestyle that includes better eating habits. 

One of the greatest tennis players of all time, Novak Djokovic, has said that he reached the top of his game by switching to a gluten-free diet.

It’s almost impossible not to read about natural, organic and gluten-free foods and drinks while navigating social media.

Since the awareness of gluten-free goods is increasing, demand is naturally skyrocketing too.

18% of adults buy gluten-free products

Over the last decade, the global market for gluten-free products reached $5.6 billion in 2020. Industry experts expect it to further grow to $8.3 billion by 2025.

Major supermarkets have allocated space and shelves to gluten-free products. This way it’s easier for consumers who want or need to go gluten-free to find all the goods they’re looking for in one place.

The same goes for restaurant chains that include gluten-free signs on their food and drink menu. They also offer consumers the choice to taste their favourite dishes cooked with gluten-free ingredients.

About 3.1 million Americans are on a gluten-free diet.

What alcoholic beverages are safe for a gluten-free diet?

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, try to avoid beverages with malt, barley and other gluten-containing grains. These include beers, ales, wine coolers and certain wines with added colouring and flavouring.

Distilled spirits and liquors like whiskey, bourbon, vodka and gin made from non-gluten grain sources (e.g., potato) can cause a bloated belly and other digestion issues to gluten-sensitive people.

What’s more, there are alcoholic beverages that can trigger digestion reactions even if their labels don’t include gluten grain ingredients. That’s because wheat gluten can sneak into alcoholic drinks as a fining agent that gives the drink a polished finish.

Fortunately, there’s a new, light, refreshing and healthy alcoholic drink category that can be naturally gluten-free: Hard Seltzer, the drink of the future

Is hard seltzer gluten-free?

Not all hard seltzer brands are truly and naturally gluten-free. 

Most manufacturers use cane sugar instead of gluten to produce the alcohol in hard seltzers. But that doesn’t mean that hard seltzers are high in calories! 

Sugar is removed in the crafting process, making the hard sparkling water the king of low-calorie alcoholic drinks.

When it comes to gluten, some hard seltzer brands use gluten-containing grains. Producers take out most of these gluten grains during fermentation, but still they can’t get rid of all gluten. 

We can’t consider these “gluten-removed” products 100% gluten-free. So, people with Celiac or other severe digestion issues should always check the label for the gluten-free sign or read the detailed ingredient list. 

If you’re looking for a naturally gluten-free and vegan hard seltzer, look no further than Served.

ServedPure™ hard seltzers are made from a four-times distilled gluten-free spirit to make the difference in the hard seltzer category. 

Served hard seltzers are:

  • 100% gluten-free
  • Extremely low in calories
  • GMO-free
  • 100% sustainable
  • Contain zero sugar and carbs!

Is hard seltzer safe for people with celiac disease?

Celiac disease is a severe autoimmune disease that affects 1 in 100 people worldwide.

When people with Celiac eat gluten-based products, their body triggers an immune response attacking the small intestine. It’s a serious disease that might also lead to further health problems if left untreated.

If you suffer from Celiac, talk with your doctor or nutritionist about alcohol consumption. Generally speaking, alcohol can be a part of a celiac diet. But you have to choose the right types of alcoholic drinks.

Hard seltzers labelled 100% gluten-free are safe for people with celiac disease. These alcoholic sodas are naturally fermented or contain distilled alcohol.

Many people with Celiac have no issues with “gluten-removed” hard seltzers. But if you don’t want to risk it, go for the 100% gluten-free ones, such as Served Hard Seltzers.

Check the label on your hard seltzer and make sure you’re enjoying a totally gluten-free drink!